The Reckless Explorer

“We are Mariners bound where man has not yet dared to go.”

In his poem, “Passage to India,” Walt Whitman speaks of the spiritual journey, of the bravery and courage, our selves and our souls must pass through in this life. He calls us reckless. And he reminds us that despite the fear, the storm, the darkness, we are safe in the seas of God.

I want to live bravely, risking everything today. For the first time in a long time, I can honestly say I am stepping into this.

At an event I went to this weekend called Women at the Cross (every woman should sign up right now, don’t ask questions, just do it) I was able to face my most hurtful fear and mourn my deepest loss: my dad. I had an opportunity to say the things to him that I never got to say when he was taken so suddenly. With my sisters around me, I was free to mourn him, say goodbye to him and face that he is gone but his presence is very much alive. Vulnerable and terrified, I risked everything before these sisters. But today, I feel well, I feel whole, I feel strong and good and loved and enough. And for the first time since that day in December, I feel at peace. Truly, fully at peace.

I was enabled to live what this poem talks about. Because of that, I get to truly experience the joy of feeling safe and loved in the Seas of God. How about you? You up for a little risk?

Here’s the section of the poem I pulled for this video:

Sail forth – steer for the deep waters only,

Reckless O Soul, exploring, I with thee, and thou with me

For we are bound where mariner has not yet dared to go

And we will risk the ship, ourselves and all.

O my brave soul!

O farther, farther sail!

O daring joy, but safe! Are they not all the seas of God?

O farther, farther, farther sail!

-Walt Whitman, Passage to India

About Laura Emily Illustration

Use my talents in communication, graphic design, video and animation to promote, articulate and foster stories that increase customer loyalty, interest and passion for your brand.
Video | This entry was posted in Dreams, Illustration, Inspiration, Love, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Reckless Explorer

  1. jdfowler says:

    Wow, Emily, you knocked it out of the park! Wonderful!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

