I’m Beautiful…Dammit!

I need this shot in the arm of sass today because I am a mess of insecurities. I feel chubby, irritable, and like a friend failure for not having enough time for the people I care most about.

If I could, I’d remain in this state, balled up and frustrated, drawing pictures and not talking to anyone. But right as I started to get cozy in my little hole of shame and self-pity, my darling friend reminded me of my favorite song, “I’m Beautiful, Dammit”, by Bette Midler. It’s loud and obnoxious and allows for no whining. And I think I need to follow her lead, shout out that I’m beautiful despite the character flaws I see so clearly. I’m beautiful whether I can be a perfect friend or not have the perfect figure or not.

Today I need to be ok just being human and, someday, I’ll feel different than I do right now. Perhaps that day I’ll feel confident about my body or have the energy to make phone calls to the people I love. But today, I can’t and that must be ok.

I’m a beautiful mess and I need some courage. So I’m going to sing this song and I’m going to face this day as the flawed human I am.

Why? You guessed it:

I'm Beautiful Dammit - Song by Bette Midler, Illustration by Emily Rogers.

I’m Beautiful Dammit – Song by Bette Midler, Illustration by Emily Rogers.

Oh, if you don’t own this song, listen now, it’s so Bette: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nWsc2nuUg-s

About Laura Emily Illustration

Use my talents in communication, graphic design, video and animation to promote, articulate and foster stories that increase customer loyalty, interest and passion for your brand.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Dreams, Illustration, Inspiration, Love, Stories, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m Beautiful…Dammit!

  1. Annemieke Roell says:

    Yes you are, dammit!!!

    Like

  2. Diane Harris says:

    I loved your post and I love Bette’s song, too. I’m amazed that you’re insecure about anything, Em. You truly ARE beautiful and talented, and now you’re heading into a life of love and blessing with your best friend. It’s blue skies all around!

    Like

  3. adexoxox says:

    As always, just beautiful…always, in every way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

