The Dream…

This is my 20th skating anniversary.

20…
Years…

If that sounds like a long time, you’re right, I’m only 27. Which means that for 7,300 days, 182,500 hours, 10,950,000 minutes, I have laced up skates and frozen my toes. The point? Love of the dream.

Only now am I realized a major error in my thinking…that my perception of success was directly linked to making the Olympic team. How wrong I was.

Do you have a death grip on your dream? I encourage you to give it some slack and reevaluate. God is a master of this stuff and I am so glad I finally let go. Now I can take pride on my accomplishments rather than shame for what I didn’t achieve.

Here’s a story, I hope you can relate:

About Laura Emily Illustration

Use my talents in communication, graphic design, video and animation to promote, articulate and foster stories that increase customer loyalty, interest and passion for your brand.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Dreams, Illustration, Inspiration, Stories, Women and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Dream…

  1. adexoxox says:

    Beautiful, Emily! And a grand reminder of when we lose sight of the Giver of Dreams, how very tragic it may turn. When I share with groups of women this is part of it…I tell them the dreams I once had, my reality, and how those dreams may not manifest the way I had imagined, but are sometimes more beautiful than I had imagined.

    Keep writing and making beautiful art! Love it!

    Like

    • Emily Rogers says:

      Thanks Adrienne! I so agree, if we don’t learn to check our intentions and motivations, when we are disappointed with the lack of recognition/glory, we become bitter. Scary stuff. I do not want to become bitter!

      Like

  2. tarynbrandt says:

    This is beautiful Emily… you are truly an artist and so beautiful inside and out. I always remember looking up to you as a skater when I skated at DU so many years ago and cheering for you at competitions. Now here we are- and this is such a powerful realization and post. You are something special =)

    Like

    • Emily Rogers says:

      Taryn, this is the absolute sweetest note. I loved skating with you and I LOVE that you are still kicking butt! Jessica and I did axels yesterday, that’s the extent of my jumping! Thank you so much for your sweet words and support!

      Like

  3. annette rogers says:

    Cuzin Emily you are very wise!

    Like

Leave a Reply

